Dún Chaoin or Dunquin in English has a rich history and tradition. A small taste of that rich heritage is provided below.
This is an article by Lorcán Ó Slattara based on research by local historian Seán Ó Cinnéide Census 1835 -1911
The closing down and reopening of Dún Chaoin National School
The attempted closing down of Scoil Dhún Chaoin in the 1970’s was one of the most important events in recent memory in the parish and the campaign to keep the school open drew widespread support throughout the country. The campaign succeeded and the school was officially reopened by the then Minister of Educaion, Dick Burke, in 1973.
30 year Commemoration of the reopening of the school
In 2003 a series of events was organised to commemorate the reopening of the school 30 years previously.
Centenary of School
The school celebrated its centenary in 2014. A commemorative book “Faoi Scáth an Fhiolair”, exhibition and other events were organised as part of the celebrations. A film about the school by Micheál and Daithí de Mordha was broadcast by TG4.
Doireann Ní Bhriain of RTÉ fame and Muintir Dhálaigh visited the Great Blasket in 1973.
Dún Chaoin Creamery
The creamery opened in 1957 and at its peak 46 farmers in the parish were supplying milk. Today there is no dairy farmer in the parish.
The film Ryan’s Daughter by director David Lean which was filmed mainly in Dún Chaoin in 1969 played a significant role in the development of Dún Chaoin and the Dingle Peninsula in terms of tourism. Many locals acted as extras and worked on the film. The remains of the village ‘Killary’ which was built high up on the mountain can be viewed today and the film school (pictured above) is still standing (just about!) on the cliff top.